Day 14, Comeback Road

Three thoughts for today.

First, tomorrow I get a checkup with the podiatrist. I think they will determine if I can step down out of the boot to the next level. Both nervous and excited.

Second, return to work is approaching fast now. First week, 1/2 time then full time, although the holiday weeks will make it a little easier. So hopefully, 3 easier weeks will help me ease back into the working world. I refuse to say “real world”, hate that expression, because quite frankly these last 6 weeks have been quite real, thank you very much 🙂

Finally, breathing. In the hospital, already a month ago (wow!), I was given a respirometer. It reads from 0 to 4.25 liters. On 11/14, I was able to get about 1.5 liters. Given learning curve and anxiety, let’s say I was about 2 liters. Today, I hit 4.5 liters (guessing since I topped out on its scale and kept going). That means on 11/14, my lung capacity was about 30 to 40% of what it is now, and yet my oxygen levels were very good without supplementation. Granted, some exertion dropped it down but still it was very good .. I guess all has not been lost with my fitness. I do worry a little, and will probably get a thorough heart exam, as my exercise capacity returns. Better safe than sorry.

But, the third point really makes me think that a good part of good running and endurance may not have ANYTHING to do with the legs, but good posture and breathing mechanics. I guess maybe what I learned from all this explains at least in part why I end up sucking wind in races sometimes, and feel that total body “anaerobic” feeling.

Day by day, step by step, the light at the end of the tunnel approaches.

Leave a comment