Day 6, Comeback Road

Today’s post doesn’t have anything directly to do with running. It has more to do with the stuff that makes us who we are, that makes us alive. 

I am sitting here in the living room, now about 3 weeks removed from the bilateral pulmonary embolism that I had. I am looking at where I sat that day struggling to breathe, where I lay on the floor, waiting for help after I called for help. On that day, the door was locked. Normally, we left it unlocked while I was recovering for SPECIFICALLY this type of emergency. The distance to open the front door to let people in seemed so far away, like I could not get there that day. When looking now, it is less than 10 feet. I think it took me about 10 minutes to get there on 11/14. 

Those minutes are a blur, like I was there and not there. I don’t know actually how long things took. As I look and think now, I can see it all happening. Very strange. I can watch what I did, the parts that I remember. 

Whatever that was, it is all like a blurry, not quite real dream to me now. Quite frankly, I think who I am now stepped forth in that event. I don’t know exactly who that is yet, but I do know this. I have been given a gift, a blessing. A part of me perhaps died that day, but I think that is OK. I think a stronger, smarter and more joyous me has taken his place. 

I walked about today. I felt the muscles of BOTH legs working. It is a little easier, less painful to walk today. There is a little more oomph from the left side, just a little but it is real and stronger now.

I felt the sun and warm air on my face. I had to work a little bit to walk on slight slopes that I buzzed over in 10+ mile runs with ease. I felt connected to a life that maybe I had some disconnects with. I chatted with a neighbor about his new driveway that we put in (I am on the board here). I have chatted with a few people here, but I do not feel compelled to talk about me. It isn’t just about me me me. We live in a world where me me me is the norm, and I too do that. But maybe I can be a little less me me me and maybe, maybe just maybe I can make the world a better place if only but a little. 

This gift of my life is a great one. I am here for a reason, have work to do still. Good work, not just get a paycheck work. 

Running will be a part of my life, this I know. My heart and mind leap with joy that that day is coming closer to me. The part that is truly different now is why I want to run. Not to impress or keep up with anyone, or blaze fast times (although I won’t lie that I enjoyed that). 

I want to run again simply because I can. 

Leave a comment